Hi Everyone! Welcome back for the last time, as this is the last book of the semester. I don’t know about you guys, but this semester has flown by for me. I can’t believe it’s almost over. 

The final book of this class was My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante, and I really enjoyed it! It reminded me of the coming-of-age books I read growing up. One book that instantly came to mind was « Claudine à l’école » by Colette et Willy, which my grandpa gifted me when I was about 12. 

Elena and Lila’s dynamic in the beginning of the book hit close to home for me, reminding me of some friendships I had while growing up. That sense of healthy competition, pushing each other to aim higher, made me think back to one of my best friendships in high school. We were both competing for valedictorian. But even with that drive to outdo each other, we still love and support each other very much. We always cheered each other on, wanting the best for one another, no matter the rivalry. However, I’ve got to say that Elena and Lila’s competition sometimes crossed into more intense, not-so-healthy territory, which was a bit more than what I went through.

I also felt bad for Don Achille. The girls paint him out to be this scary older man, but he gives the girls money to buy new dolls even though we know he didn’t take them and doesn’t know what the girls are on about. He fits into a common trope that we find in movies or books where the « scary old man » turns out actually to be a lovely person. Like in Home Alone, for example, the « scary old man » is actually just lonely and not as scary as he seems.  

I really liked the adolescence part of the book. It described the experience of going through puberty and that phase of life as a girl really well, in my opinion. The way that your body changes and you have no control over it, the way you start to compare yourself to other girls your age, and the need for male validation or romantic attention. 

Also one quote that really put things into perspective for me was, « But what could you do, it didn’t enter into his view of the world that she should continue to go to school » (70). The quote shows that the dad is not a bad person or a bad father for not wanting his daughter to pursue education; he just has a different view on women and education because that’s not the way it was for his generation, and that was not the way he was raised. 

What struck me the most towards the end of the book was how their roles seemed to reverse. Throughout their childhood and adolescence, it was Lila who seemed unattainable, brilliant in a way that was both inspiring and a bit intimidating. But by the end, as Lila navigates her new life, it’s Elena who finds herself on the verge of a different path, her academic achievements opening doors that remain closed to Lila.

The wedding is not the golden ticket we thought it was. It emphasizes the different paths their lives are taking. For Elena, it’s more a realization that the future is uncertain and the bonds of their friendship (no matter how strong they are) will be tested by the choices they make and the lives they lead.

Discussion question: The novel ends on a note of transition and uncertainty. What were your feelings about the ending? What do you think it means for the next chapter in Elena and Lila’s lives and friendship?


2 réponses à « Week 12 – Dolls, Drama, Girlhood »

  1. Avatar de Daniel Orizaga Doguim

    “Like in Home Alone, for example, the « scary old man » is actually just lonely and not as scary as he seems“. From what we see from Elena’s point of view as a child, this is true, but from what the adults let us understand, there are several shady affairs in don Achille’ past… I don’t know, maybe we’ll have to wait for the other novels in the saga to inform us. And that also has to do with the open ending of the book, as you say. For some readers, from what I have seen in this week’s blogs, the wedding represents an opportunity to improve socially… others interpret it as another step on a circular path. This week’s discussion will be very interesting!

    J’aime

  2. Avatar de Isabella

    Hi! I think that it means the two are going to go in seperate directions, not not be friends, but might not be able to remain as close. Lila is now married and will most likely have to take on responsibility that adhere to a woman’s role in marriage. Elena still has different and open possibilities ahead of her.

    J’aime

Laisser un commentaire

Concevoir un site comme celui-ci avec WordPress.com
Commencer