Hi everyone! Welcome back for the last time (for real this time). The semester is over—I can’t believe it. When people say that time in university flies by, they really are not lying. 

Since I took RMST 201 last term, I was expecting the same class format, but I was pleasantly surprised by this class. The setup was exciting and practical. You only had to come to one class per week; you had the choice between two books and could get an A+ if you did all that. What more could you want?! Sounds like a dream to me. I’m not saying it was a breeze tho. I have never read so many books in such a condensed amount of time, and I’m a very slow reader, so it was a challenge at times, especially when I had other things going on, like midterms and assignments. The last thing I wanted to do was spend my nights reading instead of studying, but I got through it! 

Of all the books we read, my favourites were the more recent ones. I would have to say that the one I liked the most was Death With Interruptions. It fits more with the other books I usually read (Dystopian, science fiction-y). I found it interesting, especially since it brought up what-ifs and made you reflect. There were actions in the book and subplots that made it more engaging, such as the romance subplot. I also really enjoyed our class with Daniel and Tesi on this book; they did a great job organizing the class structure, and the discussion was pertinent.  

The one I liked the least was the first one. The writing was good but dull and monotonous. The author was trying to use these big words just to show off his wide range of vocabulary, but it didn’t add anything to the story in any way. If anything, it made it way more challenging to read. The story was boring; there was no action, and it was going nowhere. 

The one thing I found that could have been better during class was the discussion topics sometimes. During some of the classes, we focused on things that were not as relevant during the whole hour when there were so many exciting things we could have said about the books and shared our opinions on.  

Overall, I enjoyed this class and am glad I took it! 

Thank you for everything, and thank you for following along this semester! I wish you all good luck with your finals and a nice and relaxing summer!

Discussion question: What was your favourite book this semester? Will you take another RMST class? 


6 réponses à « Week 13 – Goodbye , Goodbye, Goodbye »

  1. Avatar de Jon
    Jon

    Ludivine, I’m glad you enjoyed the course! I’m sorry you felt the discussion was sometimes « not as relevant »… I’d love to hear examples! Although alternatively, you might have been learning how many different ways there are to approach a text, and to look beyond the obvious.

    Thanks for all your contributions, and have a great summer!

    J’aime

  2. Avatar de Nini
    Nini

    Hi Ludi! I loved reading your blog and to answer your question, my favourite book was definitely « The Shrouded Woman ». I don’t know if I’ll take another RMST course but if the opportunity presents itself I probably won’t say no 🙂

    -Nini

    J’aime

  3. Avatar de Katrina Escobal
    Katrina Escobal

    Ludivine,

    I enjoyed reading your blog. I felt the same way as I took RMST 201 last semester as well, so this class’s format was a huge surprise to me. I think my favourite book was Black Shack Alley, and I would definitely take another RMST course after this one. Have a great summer!

    J’aime

  4. Avatar de meave
    meave

    Hey Ludi! My favourite book was also death with interruptions! As for if I’m gonna take this class again, I kinda have to for the requirement but I hope I’ll still enjoy it next year! Have a great summer!!

    J’aime

  5. Avatar de Ruby Dyck Steinmann

    Hi Ludi. My favourite book was Time of the Doves. I am not sure if I will take another RMST course but there is a good chance I will read more romance literature after taking this class.

    J’aime

  6. Avatar de Maya Berrached
    Maya Berrached

    Hello! My favourite book this semester was My Brilliant Friend, and I definitely want to take another RMST concert next year. Hope you have a good end of semester and a good summer!

    -Maya Berrached

    J’aime

Laisser un commentaire

Concevoir un site comme celui-ci avec WordPress.com
Commencer